Canadian Securities Regulators Launch Online Fee Guide

Vancouver – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today announced a new web-based tool that simplifies the identification of SEDAR regulatory filing fees for market participants across Canada.

The new SEDAR Regulatory Fee Guide is a web-based application that, based on entered filing information, identifies the relevant regulatory filing fees in all Canadian jurisdictions. The tool also displays a legislative reference on how the fee applies in each jurisdiction within the final search results of a query.

“The SEDAR Regulatory Fee Guide allows market participants to generate a multi-jurisdictional fee report by simply entering in their filing information,” said Jean St-Gelais, CSA Chair. “This new online tool gives SEDAR users a faster, simpler and easier way to calculate the filing fees of various securities commissions.”

As part of its work to harmonize fees, the CSA surveyed SEDAR users, who ranked fee harmonization, consolidation and automation as the three highest priorities they wanted to see addressed by Canadian securities regulators. SEDAR is the electronic filing system for the disclosure documents of public companies and mutual funds.

SEDAR does not automatically calculate fees, and implementing the system changes required to automate calculations in the current system would not be cost-effective. The CSA is studying how to address SEDAR user concerns most cost-effectively. In the meantime, the CSA provides the online fee guide to help market participants identify regulatory filing fees for SEDAR filings.

The SEDAR Regulatory Fee Guide is available in both English and French at in the “Industry Resources” dropdown menu of the website.

The guide will be updated as filing fees change. However, it does not include CDS Clearing and Depository Services Inc. fees that may be associated with SEDAR filings. The CSA continues to work on harmonizing fees across jurisdictions.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

For more information:

Ken Gracey
British Columbia Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Wendy Connors-Beckett
New Brunswick Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission

Barbara Shourounis
Saskatchewan Financial Services

Janice Callbeck
Department of the Attorney
Prince Edward Island

Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation Div.
and Labrador

Fred Pretorius
Yukon Securities Registry

Louis Arki
Nunavut Securities Office

Donn MacDougall
Northwest Territories
Securities Office