CSA, IIROC and MFDA launch expanded disciplined persons list

Toronto The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) and the Mutual Fund Dealers Association (MFDA) today announced the launch of an expanded Canadian Disciplined Persons List. 

The CSA has hosted a Disciplined Persons List on its website since 2009 as an information resource for historical records of disciplinary actions by provincial securities regulators. It has now been expanded to contain the names of persons disciplined by IIROC and the MFDA, each dating back to 2004.

“The expanded disciplined persons list is intended to assist the public and the securities industry in conducting due diligence when presented with investing opportunities,” said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission. “Working with IIROC and the MFDA, we have proactively established a central, online location to make it easier to perform a comprehensive search of our disciplined persons.”

“We have heard from investors that it was frustrating to have to search multiple disciplinary lists and databases,” said Susan Wolburgh Jenah, President and CEO of IIROC. “This is an improvement for investor protection.”

“We want Canada’s investing public to have access to information that can help them become an informed investor,” said Larry M. Waite, President and CEO of the MFDA, “Participating with the CSA and IIROC helps us accomplish that aim.”

Sanctions imposed by securities regulators in Canada are already matters of public record. With the creation of this improved disciplined persons list, individuals who have been subject to sanctions, no matter how serious, imposed by any securities regulator, IIROC or the MFDA, can now be found and searched in one central location online.

The expanded Disciplined Persons List complements disciplinary databases made available by Canada’s various regulators, which detail cases involving firms and ongoing hearings. The MFDA and IIROC will each offer direct links to the CSA’s Disciplined Persons List from their own websites.

The disciplined persons list is available on the CSA website

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets. 

IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada. 

The MFDA is the self-regulatory organization for Canadian mutual fund dealers, regulating the operations, standards of practice and business conduct of its 136 Members and their approximately 75,000 Approved Persons with a mandate to protect investors and the public interest. 

For more information: 

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission

Ken Gracey
British Columbia Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett
New Brunswick Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Barbara Shourounis
Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Janice Callbeck
PEI Securities Office
Office of the Attorney General

Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation Div.
Newfoundland and Labrador

Graham Lang
Yukon Securities Registry

Louis Arki
Nunavut Securities Office

Donn MacDougall
Northwest Territories
Securities Office