Members of CSA Investor Advisory Panel

The CSA Investor Advisory Panel consists of 11 members, including the panel’s chairperson.

Panel members are appointed for staggered terms of either two or three years, and their term is open for one renewal.

Members of the CSA IAP make up a diverse background, not only in terms of geography but also in terms of key socio-demographic factors, experience and personal attributes. Their backgrounds reflect knowledge in public policy relating to the financial well-being of Canadians, advising investors, providing financial advice to households, and experience in market or academic research.

Members of the CSA IAP:

  • Guy Lemoine – Chair, former President of the Quebec Financial Markets Administrative Tribunal (2003-2008) as well as former Vice-President and Commissioner of the Commission des valeurs mobilières du Québec (CVMQ) (1990-2003). Mr. Lemoine is a retired advocate who has served on the boards of several organizations, including FAIR Canada, of which he was co-president between 2019 and 2021.
  • Millie Acuna, a Manager of the Asset Building Programs at SEED (Supporting Employment & Economic Development) in Winnipeg and a member of the FCAC Consumer Protection Advisory Committee.
  • Jason Alcorn, an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law of Université de Moncton. He previously served as Senior Legal Counsel and Special Advisor at the Financial and Consumer Services Commission of New Brunswick (FCNB).
  • Ryan Clements, an Assistant Professor, Chair of Business Law and Regulation at the University of Calgary, Faculty of Law. His research focuses on securities law, crypto assets, fintech, and investment funds. He previously served as a Senior Policy Advisor with the Alberta Securities Commission (ASC), and on IIROC’s crypto-asset working group. He currently serves on the ASC New Economy Advisory Committee.
  • Line Deslandes, an executive with 20 years of experience in the Financial Services and Capital Markets Industry. She held several high-ranking positions in the securities law sector in Quebec, United States, and England, including for State Street Global Advisors. She also consulted for the African Development Bank and the World Bank, and served on the board of FAIR Canada from 2019 to 2021.
  • Cristie Ford, a Professor of Law at the Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia, with a research focus on financial and securities regulation, administrative law, regulatory design, access to justice, and the relationship between innovation and regulation.
  • Annick Kwetcheu Gamo, a specialist in financial education, financial coach and the founder of the Quebec non-profit organization Code F., Santé financière pour tous! (Financial Health for all!) as well as the founder of Code F. Technologies financières inc., a social Fintech developing an AI-based solutions to improve citizens’ financial health.
  • Susan Milburn, a long-serving Saskatchewan financial advisor at Raymond James Ltd., and currently a member of IIROC’s Proficiency Committee, a national advisory committee reviewing and recommending proficiency requirements for industry participants.
  • Eric Spink, a private practice lawyer with experience in a variety of roles, including law reformer, government official, securities regulator, and adjudicator. He served as a member of the Consumer and Investor Advisory Council of OBSI between 2013 and 2018.

To ensure appropriate interconnection between the CSA IAP and the Ontario Securities Commission’s Investor Advisory Panel (OSC IAP):

  • Neil Gross, Chair of the OSC IAP, is cross-appointed until he completes his term on the OSC IAP on October 31, 2022, after which he will remain a member of the CSA IAP. Mr. Gross is a former Executive Director of FAIR Canada and a lawyer with over 35 years’ experience focused on investor protection issues. He has served on the OSC IAP since 2017.
  • Brigitte Catellier, who joined the OSC IAP in 2021, will be cross-appointed as of November 1, 2022. Ms. Catellier is Associate Director of the Investor Protection Clinic at Osgoode Hall Law School, where she is an adjunct professor. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Governance Institute and Vice-President, Corporate Governance at Meridian Credit Union.